Visit Boris website Concepts - Job lists

Job list - List view

The job list screen in Boris is the standard way of viewing and editing jobs. The tabular screens show one job per row with standard columns of job date, customer, location, user and template although this can be customised and added to within the job definition.
Date, customer, location, user and template can be used as filters for lists but added columns cannot.  Also, please be aware that implementation settings may conflict with these column customisations, especially for closed and completed work.
If multiple job types are displayed within one job list then it’s possible that column headings and column data may not be consistent.  This can be overcome by using a bit of careful planning and the $empty item type in Job definition - amend job lists.
The text search box searches for the specified text within the reports in the current list.  This is very thorough and therefore slow so it is a good idea to reduce the list by applying a filter in the drop-down boxes for date, customer, location, reports and/or users. Additional filters can be added in the job definition.
Each menu item can be associated with preset filters to restrict the jobs shown to those of a particular status and/or with any of the standard filter values. For example, you could have a menu configured to automatically show Jobs of template A for customer X, location Y from the last month. Or Outstanding jobs for template B. Or jobs of any status for any location of customer W.
Job list screens contain options to add a new job for each job definition that has been created. These options can be removed on specified screens and the text of the button can be customized.
The maximum number of items shown on each page can be configured.
Each menu item can have a number of options to perform actions on all or selected jobs. These include options to change the status of selected jobs, to export all or selected jobs to a spreadsheet or to delete selected jobs.

Job list - Graphical planner

The graphical planner is an alternative to the standard job lists and is a better option, in many cases, for planning, allocating and modifying jobs.
The planner consists of a series of slots in the calendar for each user shown. The number of days shown, the number of slots per day and the actual times of day corresponding to the slots can all be configured. Different planners can show different time spans and slots: for example the same set of jobs and users could appear on a weekly planner with 3 slots per day, and a monthly planner with 1 slot per day.
Unallocated jobs are typically shown on the left hand side of the planner and can be dragged into the relevant calendar slot for a user – this will allocate the job in the same way that manually editing the job details would do. The unallocated list can be omitted and can also be customized to contain a subset of all unallocated work, according to certain rules.
Dragging the right hand side of a job allows the time allocated to be increased or decreased.
Dragging a job from one slot to another will alter the job’s date/time and/or user. If the user is changed then this is effectively a deallocation of the original job (which will therefore be removed from the user’s Work List) and an allocation to the new user (who will receive the job in their device Work List).
Dragging the right hand side of a job allows the time allocated to be increased or decreased.
Clicking on a job will allow manual alternation of job details, including the date/time and user if the drag and drop method is not suitable.
Clicking on an empty slot will allow the creation of a new job for the date/time and user specified. The type of job created (ie. the job definition) is part of the configuration of the planner, so can vary between different planners.
Clicking on the top right hand corner of a job will give an option to close the job.
Jobs of different statuses and types can be colour coded to allow easy distinction between outstanding and completed jobs. The colour coding is controlled within the job definition.
The planner can either display all non-customer users (ie. administrators and standard users) or it can display users in a specified group. Regardless of the purpose of a planner, all types of job are shown for any included user. Hence if a user is shown in, for example, the Service planner any non-service jobs allocated to them will be shown, preventing double-booking.
A user may appear in multiple planners.
See Also

Jobs menu

 

 


Parts copyright 2014 Boris Software Ltd. Parts copyright 2014 Firetronic Software Ltd. Parts copyright 1998-2014 Cadence Computing Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Menus, prompts, fields and options are from a typical installation - some items may not appear as shown. Please contact Boris support for information on additional features.